We Wait, We Hope, We Work

I’m worried.

I’m worried that I didn’t do or say enough to show my support for Clinton and her campaign.

I’m worried that my LGBT family and friends will lose all of the progress that has been made in the past 8 years. I’m worried that employers will feel it’s acceptable to discriminate based on sexual orientation. I’m worried that my friends who are madly in love with one another won’t be able to get married in the future.

I’m worried for those with limited access to health insurance. I’m worried that the Affordable Care Act will be torn to shreds and that those with low income or pre-existing conditions will suffer because of it.

I’m worried for my friends and their parents who are immigrants. I’m worried that they will feel unwelcome, unloved, and unappreciated. I am sad for the children who are experiencing fear at the thought of their parents being deported.

I’m worried for the young girls in this country who will no longer have a First Lady like Michelle Obama to look up to and admire. I don’t know about you, but I just cannot picture Melania maintaining a White House garden.

I’m worried for the young boys in this country who will view Trump as a role model and think it’s okay to disrespect women. I’m worried that harassment and assault will become normal.

I’m worried for those who are not Christians. I’m worried that extremists will become aggressive and continue spewing the hate that grew during the campaign season.

I’m worried that there could be someone out there who dislikes Trump so much that they’d make an attempt on his life. I’m also worried at the idea of President Pence.

In the big scheme of things, I’m very lucky to only be worried and not scared. I feel so bad for those that are scared. You should never have to fear your government, feel unwelcome in your own country, or be afraid to practice your faith.

I hope with all my being that Trump succeeds so that our country as a whole can succeed. I hope that the divides in this country do not continue to widen. I hope everyone lets their worries and fears be known when November 6th, 2018 arrives, when 33 senators and 435 representatives are up for reelection.

Until then, we wait. We hope. We work. We work with others who are worried. We work to help those that are scared. We work to make everyone feel welcome, appreciated, cared for, respected, and loved.

