Fall Y’all

When I walked out of my apartment on my way to work, I was greeted with an unexpected chill in the air and leaves crunching under my feet. It’s fall, y’all!

After work, I checked my mailbox and found a package from my mom with fall cookie cutters and sprinkles. Isn’t she the best? Naturally I just had to make cookies right away to put them to use. I was happy (and a little proud of my adult self) for having all of the necessary ingredients without making a trip to the store. Here is the sugar cookie recipe!

  • 3/4 cups butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Cream the butter and sugar, beat in eggs and vanilla, add flour and baking powder. Chill the dough before rolling and cutting. Once the cookie are cut, bake on 375°F for 8 minutes.

For the frosting, I used a recipe I found on the Wilton website, with a few modifications.

  • 1/4 cup crisco shortening
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp maple flavoring
  • 1 tbsp almond milk

Cream butter and shortening until light and fluffy, add sugar gradually (you may use more or less depending on the consistency you desire), add flavoring and splash of milk and mix until fluffy.

I realized the one grocery item I neglected to have stocked was food coloring, but I’m still pleased with how the white icing turned out. The maple flavoring gives the perfect, subtle dose of fall flavor! Enjoy!

20161022_105726.jpg

 

4 thoughts on “Fall Y’all

Share a thought

