I Found Solace in the Strangest Place

Music is an unbelievably big influence in my life, and it always has been. As a child I desired to play any piano I saw. As a matter of fact, I desired to play any instrument I saw. I was quite the recorder aficionado in elementary school and took piano lessons for a year. When middle school band started, I chose the clarinet and oboe and continued throughout high school. In college I purchased a ukulele and guitar, and I still play both on occasion.

That being said, I am by no means a musician in the artistic definition of the word. Sure, I can strum a few songs and match a key, but I am very much an amateur. Instead, I would consider myself a music enthusiast.

There is always a song to match your life, no matter what kind of day you’re having. Of course there’s the love song, the break up song, the summer jams, etc. but I’m talking about more than that. Lyrics are the easiest way to connect to a song, but feeling the emotion in the music itself and not just the words being sung…there’s nothing better.

My latest obsession is Alive by Sia. The lyrics are deep and her voice is incredible, but I can feel her emotion as she pushes the range of her vocal chords to their limit.

“I found solace in the strangest place; way in the back of my mind.”

My favorite line from the song. Why? The back of my mind is the complete opposite of solace. The back of my mind is overrun with anxiety. The back of my mind gets trapped in back and forths. The back of my mind is where I get stuck lying awake at night overthinking. The back of my mind is the last place I’d think to associate with the word solace, but maybe that will change one day. I look forward to that day.

On the contrary, I do find solace in music. It serves as an escape; a way to release my emotions. I’ve talked to a few counselors and tried a few techniques to help with anxiety and depression, and NOTHING compares to driving with the windows down, music blaring, singing at the top of my lungs.

Music is the medicine of life.

Share a thought

