Babalu Tacos & Tapas

10/10 would recommend

Atmosphere – 10/10

Food – 9/10

Service – 10/10

Babalu Tacos & Tapas makes it in my top 10, and probably even my top 5. I have gone right after work a couple times to catch their happy hour specials and enjoyed a couple delicious glasses of sangria. I’d recommend the red over white. We had no problem getting a table for 6, but there was a wait once peak dinner time hit so I’d recommend trying to get there early.

On my first visit we started off with the guacamole which was made tableside, and while I’m not typically a fan of avocado, I loved their guac! 5/6 of us ordered the baba burger, and it was well worth the calories. I’m a bit of a self proclaimed burger connoisseur, and this was certainly a strong performer. I know what you’re thinking; you ordered a burger at a taco place? Trust me, if burgers aren’t even their specialty and it was still  that good, then the tacos and tapas must be off the charts. TBD next visit.

-Nest visit update! The tacos were unique and quite tasty! My favorite was the pork shoulder taco. We also ordered the queso appetizer and it was good, but not as good as the guac.

Our service was excellent and we made sure the tip and comment cards reflected that. Request Ebony!!She helped us take full advantage of the happy hour specials and our food was delivered promptly. She did mention that the food comes out as it’s ready and not as a whole table, which may make the experience more casual than some like, but I think the food is well worth it.

Happy hour specials are 4-6. $2 off Sangria and $1 off tacos (originally $3, you can’t beat that price honestly)

eatbabalu.com

2115 Madison Ave.

Memphis, TN 38104

Share a thought

